I dreamed that god would be forgiving (Stop execution of Zanyar and Loghman Moradi)

4

“I despair thinking of death; I do not want to be buried with my dreams.”

This is 21 year old Zanyar Moradi’s plea in a letter distributed by the International Committee against Executions.

He awaits imminent execution along with his cousin Loghman Moradi. Both have been sentenced to death by the Islamic regime of Iran for “enmity against god” and “corruption on earth”.

His plea reminds me of the song from Les Miserables:



I dreamed a dream in time gone by
And hope was high and life worth living
I dreamed that love would never die
I dreamed that god would be forgiving
But the tigers come at night
With their voices soft as thunder
I had a dream my life would be
So different from this hell I’m living
So different now from what it seemed
Now life has killed a dream I dreamed…

Zanyar asks: “Is the world so cruel as to stand by and watch [our] public execution and say and do nothing?”.

Please say and do something now…

Join the TweetStorm today 8 January at 3pm EST, 7pm London, 12pm PST, 8pm Berlin, 10:30pm Tehran. Tweet #FreeMoradis.  Stop the execution of political prisoners in #Iran, #Zanyar & #Loghman #Moradi.

Sign a petition here or here. Join Facebook pages supporting them here or here and send protest letters here.

Written By: Maryam Namazie
continue to source article at freethoughtblogs.com

4 COMMENTS

  1. A very necessary work, although very sad too.
    Wish you could achieve justice through it for all the victims.
    This kind of injustice should not be acceptable anymore (how many more years will it take for the universalism of human rights to become broad ? thousands it seems to me).
    I wonder why cars, airplanes, computers and other technology are so widely spread, but not human rights ?
    Happy new year.

Leave a Reply